Lasagna

I don’t do lasagna very often.  When I saw this recipe, I had to try it.  It’s pure comfort food.  There is a lot of sauce so this lasagna is not dry.

Clifton Street Lasagna
From RecipeZaar

12 servings

  • 4 (8 ounce) cans tomato sauce
  • 2 (6 ounce) cans tomato paste
  • 6 ounces beer (I used Stella Artois cause that’s what I had)
  • 15 ounces ricotta cheese (I used low-fat)
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 lb fresh mushroom, sliced
  • 1/4 large onion, chopped (I used 1 small onion)
  • 1 tablespoon grated parmesan cheese
  • 1 1/2 lbs ground beef, deveined shrimp or peeled deveined shrimp (only lean ground beef)
  • 2 tablespoons italian seasoning
  • 1 tablespoon seasoning salt (omitted it)
  • 1 tablespoon garlic powder
  • 2 tablespoons butter (I omitted it and used PAM)
  • 16 ounces lasagna noodles, cooked and drained (I used whole wheat and didn’t notice the taste)
  • 2 cups mozzarella cheese, shredded (I used part-skim and added more)
  1. Preheat oven to 350°F.
  2. Combine sauce, paste, beer and Italian seasoning in saucepan over low heat.
  3. Simmer about 5 minutes.
  4. In large skillet, melt 1 tablespoon butter and saute meat or shrimp with 1 teaspoon garlic and 1 teaspoon seasoned salt.
  5. Stir into sauce.
  6. In same skillet, melt the remaining butter and add onions and mushroom, 1 teaspoon garlic, and 1 teaspoon seasoned salt.
  7. Cook until onions are translucent.
  8. Stir into sauce.
  9. Combine ricotta, egg and parmesan and mix well.
  10. Spoon a little sauce into the bottom of a 9×13 inch baking pan.
  11. Add a layer of noodles, then a layer of ricotta mixture, then a layer of sauce.
  12. Sprinkle with mozzarella.
  13. Repeat layers, finishing with cheese.
  14. (here I suggest that you put your baking dish in a baking pan cause my oven got a few drips at the end and it smell awful in my kitchen)
  15. Bake at 350°F for about 1 hour.
Leave a Reply

