Roasted Red Pepper and Feta Spread

I’ve tried a few times feta and it’s a cheese I don’t like.  But in a spread like that, I like it.  This spread (dip for us) is so good.  Next time I have to do a spicy dip with feta.  If you have a wonderful recipe that is spicy with feta and hot peppers, can you share please?

Roasted Red Pepper and Feta Spread
From RecipeZaar

Serving : 1 cup

  • 2 red peppers, roasted, peeled and seeded (I used the ones in jar)
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 1 pinch cayenne
  • 250 g feta cheese (I used greek feta)
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  1. In a food processor, puree reasted peppers, garlic and cayenne.
  2. Add feta and olive oil, pulse until just blended.
  3. Serve with grilled pita bread, crackers, French bread chunks or baguette slices.

And I wanted to serve it with grilled pita bread, so I preheated the oven to 350 F.  I cut 2 pita bread in 6 wedges each.  Put on a baking sheet with parchment paper.  Let cook near 15 minutes, checking them each 5 minutes.  When I removed them, I brushed them with olive oil and sprinkled dried oregano.  Yummy.  This is how Peter told me to try it.

***********************

Speaking of Peter, I made one of his recipes yesterday.  And this is so yummy.  We loved it.

This dish has mushroom, gruyere cheese, hot peppers… To see more, click on this link to see his recipe.  Thanks Peter 🙂  I’ll do it again.

5 thoughts on “Roasted Red Pepper and Feta Spread

    • I know that it would be even better with homemade roasted pepper. But I had already a jar opened in the fridge from I don’t know when. So I didn’t want to waste it but I won’t buy more jarred roasted peppers. I already tried it and it’s so easy.

  1. This looks delicious. What a great snack. Have you tried the French Feta (Valbreso)? You might like it better than the Greek Feta. The flavor is less pronounced. Thanks for sharing this delicious recipe.

  2. Yum! That dip sounds awesome! I have made something similar using white beans and goat cheese, but this sounds saltier and more decadent!

    If you think you aren’t a fan of Feta try making sure you get the really good stuff. Go to a greek market and buy a chunk that is in a big bucket behind the deli. That’s the good imported stuff that you see in Greece. What you can get in the grocery store I find to be frequently dry and tasteless. Oh and the goat’s milk feta is the real deal.

Leave a Reply

