Healthy & Yummy Dinner

This is what we had for dinner.  It was easy to do in maybe 30 minutes.  Maybe more cause I’m slow re-reading the recipes LOL

I had pork tenderloin in the fridge and decided to make Caramelized Pork Slices.  Wow it was good.  Even my boyfriend who doesn’t like sweet main dishes, loved it.  And I made a Quinoa Pilaf, which my son didn’t like a lot but you know how kids are.  They can be picky.  He’s 4 years old.  My boyfriend added shredded cheddar cheese on his serving and he ate it all.

Caramelized Pork Slices
From Betty Crocker The 300 Calorie Cookbook
4 servings of 190 calories each

  • 1 lb pork tenderloin, cut into 1/2-inch slices
  • 2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • 2 tablespoons packed brown sugar (I used 1 tablespoon not packed)
  • 1 tablespoon orange juice (I used Tropicana)
  • 1 tablespoon molasses
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt (omitted it)
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper (omitted it, I know I’m boring)
  1. Spray 10-inch skillet with cooking spray; heat over medium-high heat.  Cook pork and garlic in skillet 6 to 8 minutes, turning occasionally, until pork is no longer pink in center.  Drain if necessary.
  2. Stir in remaining ingredients; cook until mixture thickens and coats pork.

1 serving : Calories 190 (calories from fat 40); total fat 4.5 g (saturated fat 1.5g; trans fat 0 g); cholesterol 70 mg; sodium 350mg; total carbohydrate 12 g (dietary fiber 0 g; sugars 10 g); protein 26 g % daily value : vitamin A 0 %; vitamin C 0 %; calcium 2 %; iron 10 %  Exchanges : 1 other carbohydrate, 3 1/2 very lean meat, 1/2 fat  Carbohydrate Choices : 1


Quinoa Pilaf (WW 4 PTS)
From RecipeZaar
4 servings

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1/2 onion, chopped (I used 1 onion, I don’t like to waste)
  • 1 stalk celery  (including leaves) (mine didn’t had leaves)
  • 2 carrots, finely chopped
  • 1/2 cup quinoa
  • 1 cup hot water or vegetable stock or chicken broth (I used hot water but I should have used chicken broth cause my BF said it needed more flavors)
  • 1 cup butternut squashed, peeled and diced (optional) (I didn’t use it)
  • 1 bay leaf
  • fresh lemon rind, grated from 1 lemon (I used 1 tablespoon)
  • 1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup frozen peas (that I defrosted in microwave in a little bit of water)
  • salt and pepper, to taste (omitted it)
  1. Heat oil in nonstick pan and cook onion, celery and carrots for 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  2. Rinse quinoa with cold water, drain well and add to pan.
  3. Cook, stirring, for 1 minute.
  4. Add water, bay leaf, lemon rind and juice.
  5. Add squash, if using.
  6. Bring to a boil, reduce heat to medium-low, cover then simmer for 15 to 20 minutes or until liquid is absorbed and quinoa is tender.
  7. Discard bay leaf and stir in peas.
  8. Season with salt and pepper.
4 thoughts on “Healthy & Yummy Dinner

Leave a Reply

