Snow-Day Skillet Cookie

Last week I saw this recipe on this blog.  I wanted to try it.  I never made cookies that way.  I wanted to do this for my son and my boyfriend.  Of course, I was really bad.  I ate too many slices on Sunday (the day I made it).  So as you can see, it’s really good.  My boyfriend who loves chocolate chip cookies, really loved “this” cookie.  Maybe I made it too thick.

Snow-Day Skillet Cookie
From Martha Stewart Living
8 servings

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt (I omitted it)
  • 3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened (I used 1/2 cup butter and 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce)
  • 3/4 cup packed light brown sugar (I didn’t pack)
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cups mixed milk and semisweet chocolate chips (I used only 1 cup and I think it was enough)
  • 1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

    2. In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda and salt. Set aside.

    3. In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream butter and sugars until the mixture is light and fluffy, about 2 minutes.

    4. Add egg and vanilla, mixing until they are fully incorporated.

    5. Add flour mixture, and beat until just combined.

    6. Stir in chocolate chips.

    7. Transfer dough to a 10-inch ovenproof skillet, and press to flatten, covering the bottom of the pan. Bake until the edges are brown and top is golden, 40 to 45 minutes. Transfer to a wire rack to cool, 15 to 20 minutes. Cut into 8 wedges. Serve each with a scoop of ice cream or a large glass of milk.

    But please visit the blog of Ezrapoundcake to see her beautiful photo of the cookie.

    Leave a Reply

    