Homemade Yogurt / Stuffed Portobello Mushrooms

I found great recipes on the blog of Two Peas and Their Pod.  I think it’s the 3rd recipe I do in 2 weeks.  Today I plan on looking at the archives to find more recipes to try.

So on Sunday I made Homemade Yogurt.  I have a old yogurt maker from my mother.  The brand is Yogourmet.  This is exactly what you can see on this photo.  But the one I have is yellow cause it’s so old LOL

This recipe was very easy to do.  I used skim milk and fat-free plain yogurt.  I let it in the yogurt maker for at least 15 hours cause I was sleeping.  It could be more thick but anyway I’m used to not-so-thick yogurt. To show you, I did 2 bowls, one with blueberry jam and one with raspberry jam.  Both jams are ultra-light in calories (only 20 calories per tablespoon).  And I added Splenda to both.  My son ate the raspberry yogurt and said it was really good.

If I want thick yogurt, I can take a coffee filter on a bowl?  How many hours to have thick yogurt?

*********************

Then yesterday when I came home after work, I took the time to do the Stuffed Portobello Mushrooms.  I ate mine with leftover chicken and spinach topped with italian dressing.

This side dish is very filling, healthy with lots of good vegetable.  I don’t always like spinach but combined with the other ingredients, it’s delicious.  I left out the garlic (was too lazy too chop it finely).  I left out the breadcrumbs, cause I don’t really like breadcrumbs and also it made less calorie.  I used a part skim mozzarella cheese.  I used about 60 g of grated mozzarella.

I roasted diced red bell pepper in a non-stick skillet. After the 10 minutes at 375 F, I put the oven to broil and let the cheese turn golden.  It was so good.

If you like mushrooms, you have to try this recipe.

5 thoughts on “Homemade Yogurt / Stuffed Portobello Mushrooms

  1. Glad you enjoyed the recipes. If you want thicker yogurt start with a Greek yogurt…and then you can strain it if you want it even thicker. I like to use Fage or Oikos as my starter.
    I usually make plain yogurt and eat it with fruit and a drizzle of agave nectar.

    I need to make those mushrooms again, they are tasty huh? 🙂

    • I never found Greek yogurt at my supermarket. Maybe if I go to Greek supermarket, but again, I don’t know where I can find one in Montreal. Probably in the West. Which I don’t go very often.

  2. Oh that raspberry yogurt looks gorgeous yum! I think standing it for 2 hours in the fridge should give you a nice thick yogurt. Even cheesecloth works well here. I set yogurt every alternate day & have been doing it for years. You should try & make quark cheese…

Leave a Reply

