Healthy Salads

I don’t like all kinds of salads.  I don’t like bitter green, endives…  I like spinach but not in every way.

In this spinach salad, the dressing makes it really good.


Spinach Salad with Warm Maple Dressing
From RecipeZaar
4 servings

  • 2 tablespoons chopped pecans
  • 1 (10 ounce) package fresh spinach, torn or 12 cups baby spinach
  • 1 cucumber, peeled, seeded and cut into 1/4-inch slices (I didn’t peel it)
  • 2 teaspoons extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 shallot, finely chopped
  • 1/4 cup cider vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons pure maple syrup
  • salt & freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/4 cup shredded smoked cheese (such as Gouda) or cheddar cheese (I used smoked Gouda, it makes it delish)
  1. Toast pecans in a small dry skillet over low heat, stirring often, until fragrant, 2 to 3 minutes. Transfer to a small bowl and let cool.
  2. Toss spinach and cucumber in a salad bowl.
  3. Heat oil in a small skillet over medium-low heat. Add shallot and cook, stirring, until softened, about 4 minutes. Add vinegar and maple syrup and bring to a boil. Season with salt and pepper.
  4. Immediately pour dressing over the spinach and cucumber. Toss well and sprinkle with cheese and toasted pecans.

********************************

I don’t like to eat plain tomatoes.  Even with salt and pepper on it, I don’t like.  It has to be in a recipe.  Last year I tried this recipe.  I loved it so much.  I made it last week.  I even doubled the recipe.

Sesame Tomato Salad
From RecipeZaar
1-2 serving

  • 1 large ripe tomato, chopped
  • 1-2 tablespoon mayonnaise (I always use Hellmans light, the one that has 40 calories per tablespoon)
  • 1/2 teaspoon toasted sesame oil
  • salt (no salt for me)
  • pepper (no pepper for me, it’s too good like that)
  • 1 teaspoon toasted sesame seeds (optional)
  1. Place the chopped tomato in a bowl. Mix in mayonnaise and sesame oil and mix. Salt and pepper to taste and sprinkle the toasted sesame seeds over the top.
  2. Serve and enjoy!

**************************

There is a giveaway on the blog of Megan’s Munchies

2 thoughts on “Healthy Salads

Leave a Reply

