Quebec Food – Apple Crumbles

It’s a dish that is very popular in Quebec.  We call it : Croustade aux pommes.

I know that it’s made also in the US and other places.  But I wanted to share this simple recipe 🙂

Cinnamon Apple Crumble
Recipe from RecipeZaar

  • 4 cups peeled cored & thinly sliced baking apples
  • 3 tablespoons orange juice
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 tablespoon cornstarch
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon (divided) (I love cinnamon so I add more cause I omit nutmeg)
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg (I omitted it
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar (packed) (Like I said in my previous post of Sugar pie, I always use dark brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 1/4 cup butter (always unsalted for us because of my boyfriend)
  • 1/2 cup oats (quick or old fashioned, uncooked)
  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Lightly grease a 2 quart glass baking dish (or clay baker is fine too).
  2. Combine apples and orange juice in a large bowl.
  3. Stir in sugar, cornstarch, vanilla, and 1/2 tsp cinnamon; toss to coat apples.
  4. Spoon apple mixture into prepared dish.
  5. Combine brown sugar, flour, remaining 1/2 tsp cinnamon and nutmeg in a medium bowl.
  6. Cut in butter with a pastry blender until mixture is coarse and crumbly and then stir in oats.
  7. Sprinkle topping mixture over apple mixture.
  8. Bake for 25-30 minutes until apples are tender.

************************

There is still a few days to participate in this giveaway of Vivapura products.

Leave a Reply

