Minestrone Soup

On Sunday I made this soup.  My boyfriend helped me to cook the veggies.  He was a big help.  This soup is really delicious and healthy.  So that’s great.  That’s my lunches for the week.  It’s filling.  I ate veggies and fruits on the sides.  And I have a complete filling meal.


Minestrone Soup
From Moosewood Cookbook but taken on RecipeZaar

  • 2 teaspoons olive oil
  • 2 cups chopped onions
  • 5 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons salt (I omitted it)
  • 1 stalk celery, chopped
  • 1 medium carrot, diced
  • 1 cup green beans, cut into 1-inch pieces (I used 2 small zucchini, roughly chopped)
  • 1 teaspoon oregano
  • fresh black pepper
  • 1 teaspoon basil
  • 1 medium bell pepper, diced (I used a green bell pepper)
  • 4 cups water (more if needed)
  • 1 (650 ml) jar good spaghetti sauce (meat free) (I used a meat free bolognese sauce, low-fat and high in fiber from President’s Choice Blue Menu
  • 1 cup chickpeas, cooked
  • 1 cup dry pasta (any shape) (I omitted the pasta)
  • 1/2 cup parsley, minced
  • parmesan cheese (use soy cheese if vegan) (I used the parmesan only for the photo, but for my lunch, I omit it to have less fat)
  1. Heat the olive oil in nonstick Dutch oven.
  2. Add onion, garlic and salt.
  3. Saute over medium heat for about 5 minutes.
  4. Add celery, carrot, green beans and seasonings.
  5. Cover and cook overy very low heat 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  6. Add bell pepper, water and spaghetti sauce.
  7. Cover and simmer 15 minutes.
  8. Add beans and simmer another 5 minutes.
  9. Bring to a gentle boil.
  10. Add pasta.
  11. Stir and cook until pasta is done.
  12. Serve topped with parsley and parmesan.

***************************

I made a fillet of trout, topped with pesto and sun-dried tomatoes.  I really loved it.  Served with steamed veggies and brown basmati rice, it was really yummy.  Take a look at the photo.

***********************

If you want to have a chance to win a yoga mat, go there to enter the giveaway.  I would really like to win it.  It’s a thing I have to buy.

3 thoughts on “Minestrone Soup

Leave a Reply

