I love my gift

It’s been maybe over a year since I wanted to have a waffle maker.  I have almost all small appliances but this one I didn’t have.  So I asked my boyfriend a waffle maker.  I saw the one from Cuisinart and that’s the one I wanted and I got it 😀

He gave it to me only when we were back in Montreal (on Saturday).  So I was looking for recipes to try.  And on Sunday I made this recipe :

Basic Batter Waffles
from RecipeZaar

  • 2 eggs
  • 1 2/3 cups milk (I particularly like canned evaporated milk for some of it) (I used what I had : 2% fat milk)
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 cups all purpose flour  (you can substitute wheat germ for 1/4 cup of white flour) (all white for me)
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt (I always omit salt)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 teaspoon maple extract (optional) (I didn’t use it)

This morning I tried another recipe that caught my attention yesterday.

Waffle of Insane Greatness


from the blog of Inn Cuisine

Click here for the recipe 🙂  This recipe is even better than the one I made on Sunday.  And it’s so easy to do.  Just wait 30 minutes.

I can’t wait to try more waffles recipe.  For the next weeks I’ll be looking for healthier, low-fat waffles recipe.  Does that exist?  LOL

6 thoughts on “I love my gift

  1. I have that same waffle maker! My daughter gave it to me a couple years ago. Your waffle looks crisp and yummy! I have tried reducing the fat, but I think 1/3 cup is about as low as you can go. Better to add whole wheat and use fresh fruit instead of syrup I think!

    • I have pumpkin puree in the freezer. I’ll have to give it a try later and I’ll add cinnamon. But after tomorrow I’m joining the #10in10 on twitter. So no more waffles, maybe on weekends but they will be reduced-fat if possible and just one with fresh fruits.

  2. Hey I have the same waffle maker. I got it last year for a gift and I love it. Only a few days ago I made fresh cranberry waffles. Its so brilliant. I share your joy…Yipee

Leave a Reply

