Recipes with fresh tomatoes

I have plenty of fresh tomatoes from my garden to use so I’m looking for different recipes.

I made a caprese salad yesterday.  Very simple and easy.  My boyfriend loved it.

I also made this cream of fresh tomato soup from the Barefoot Contessa that uses 4 lb of fresh tomatoes.  And it’s really yummy.

And last Friday night I made this Roasted Tomato Sauce.  So easy to do.  And the taste is great.  wow!  Next time I’ll double the recipe.

Roasted Tomato Sauce
From Food.com

6 servings

  • 1 lb tomato
  • 1/2 onion
  • 6 garlic cloves
  • 1/4 cup fresh basil
  • olive oil
  1. Preheat oven to 450.
  2. Cut the tomatoes in half and dump them into a roasting pan or a baking sheet with sides.
  3. Chop up half an onion and a few cloves of garlic per pan, or more if you like, and dump that in too.
  4. Coarsely chop some fresh basil and add that.
  5. Stir this all together and spread it out evenly; crowded is fine but no more than a single layer.
  6. Drizzle on some olive oil and sprinkle with salt.
  7. Roast for 20 minutes or until the tomatoes collapse and the skins look browned and wrinkly. Let the pan cool and then scrape everything into a blender or food processor and puree. Use or freeze.
One thought on “Recipes with fresh tomatoes

  1. This sounds so fresh and anything everything roasted sure seems to taste better. I would love to give this a try as soon as my new oven gets here. I’m ready for the roasting kind of weather!

Leave a Reply

