Healthy and Filling Soups

On Sunday I made two soups. One for me and one for my boyfriend. First let me present you the Black Bean Soup.

My boyfriend says it’s spicy. I used a medium salsa.

Black Bean Soup
From Guilt Free Cooking from Taste of Home cookbook

10 servings

  • 3/4 cup celery, chopped
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 tablespoon canola oil
  • 3 (14 1/2 ounce) cans chicken broth
  • 2 (15 ounce) cans black beans, rinsed and drained (I used black beans, that I soaked overnight and cooked)
  • 1 (16 ounce) jar salsa (I used medium)
  • 1 cup cubed cooked chicken breast
  • 1 cup cooked long-grain rice
  • 1 tablespoon lime juice
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin (I omitted it)
  1. In a large saucepan, saute celery, onion and garlic in oil until tender. Stir in the remaining ingredients. Heat through.
  2. Diabetic Exchanges : 1 1/2 meat 1 starch.

**********************************

Now it’s time for my soup. In fact, in the description it’s mentionned that it’s more like a stew.  On my photo, you can see that it looks like a soup. But now it’s really thick.  I can almost eat it with a fork.  I love the taste.  It’s low in calories and there is plenty of fibers.  I love it.

Lentils are loaded with protein and fiber, can be kept on hand in the pantry, and cook quickly without presoaking, making lentil soup an excellent anytime meal. Peppery watercress perks up the flavor and adds vibrant color to this earthy soup.


Lentil Soup With Watercress
From Healthy Heart Cookbook from the American Medical Association

6 servings

  • 1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil or canola oil
  • 1 shallot, chopped
  • 1 celery rib, diced
  • 1 tomato, diced
  • 1 teaspoon fresh oregano, chopped or 1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 5 cups fat-free no-salt-added chicken broth or vegetable broth (or more)
  • 1 cup dried brown lentils, rinsed (I had green)
  • 1/3 cup medium-grind bulgur
  • 1 cup watercress leaf, coarsely chopped
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt (I omitted it)
  1. In a large saucepan, heat the oil over medium-high heat. Add the shallot and celery and sauté until the vegetables are tender, about 4 minutes. Add the tomato and oregano and cook for 3 minutes longer. Add the broth and 1 cup water and bring to a boil.
  2. Reduce the heat to medium-low and add the lentils. Return to a simmer and cook for 5 minutes, then add the bulgur. Simmer until the lentils are soft but still intact, about 10 minutes longer. Add more broth if necessary, but the soup should be slightly thickened like a stew.
  3. Remove from the heat and stir in the watercress. Season with the salt and serve immediately.

2 thoughts on “Healthy and Filling Soups

  1. Hi there

    I found your blog through Tishia Lee’s and decided to follow because it looks like you’ve got some really good healthy recipes here! I just started Weight Watchers too, so I’m always looking for healthy recipes and snacks. Looking forward to your posts :)

Leave a Reply

